Dispatches from the Front: The War on Christmas

Have you heard of this “War on Christmas?”

Apparently, the widespread saying of “happy holidays” rather than “Merry Christmas,” is an affront to Christendom and weakening the power of the very special holiday. You can see the devastating effects on this formerly important holiday by the Christmas decorations hung on street corners in late October.

Wait a minute….

Look, I love Christmas. I am a Christmas dork. Twinkle lights apparently renew my faith in humanity. I don’t know. But I cannot imagine being insulted or fearing for the future of Christmas because someone wished me a happy holiday.

Now, I understand that there is a religious element to this that I do not care about. But seriously, get over yourselves. It’s egocentric to expect the world to not only honor your beliefs, but to intuit what they are.

I don’t think it’s offensive to wish people a Merry Christmas if they don’t celebrate it, but I do think it’s nice to actually consider the fact that another person may not share the same background. It isn’t about being PC, it’s about being considerate and aware that other people exist outside of your purview.

So I’m going to wish people “happy holidays” and mean it. Because even if they don’t celebrate, I hope they do have a happy Chanukah, Solstice, Kwanzaa, Christmas, and New Year’s.

I don’t wish people a happy birthday on my birthday. And I don’t feel like the awesomeness of my birthday is threatened if a stranger tells to have a NICE DAY instead of a “Happy Birthday.”

One thought on “Dispatches from the Front: The War on Christmas

  1. Happy Holidays! You have inspired me…finally putting the Maypole away and getting the season-appropriate decos out of the basement.

Leave a Reply

